{WoW #109} Front Lines by Michael Grant

Posted December 9, 2015 by Rachel Lightwood in Memes & Features / 8 Comments

Waiting on Wed

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine, which spotlights upcoming books that we eagerly anticipate.

{WoW #109} Front Lines by Michael GrantFront Lines by Michael Grant
Series: Soldier Girl #1
Published on January 26th 2016
by Katherine Tegen Books
Genres: Historical Fiction
Amazon | Goodreads

Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Code Name Verity, New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant unleashes an epic, genre-bending, and transformative new series that reimagines World War II with girl soldiers fighting on the front lines.

World War II, 1942. A court decision makes women subject to the draft and eligible for service. The unproven American army is going up against the greatest fighting force ever assembled, the armed forces of Nazi Germany.

Three girls sign up to fight. Rio Richlin, Frangie Marr, and Rainy Schulterman are average girls, girls with dreams and aspirations, at the start of their lives, at the start of their loves. Each has her own reasons for volunteering: Rio fights to honor her sister; Frangie needs money for her family; Rainy wants to kill Germans. For the first time they leave behind their homes and families—to go to war.

These three daring young women will play their parts in the war to defeat evil and save the human race. As the fate of the world hangs in the balance, they will discover the roles that define them on the front lines. They will fight the greatest war the world has ever known.

Why I’m waiting:

Well, for a number of reasons really.

1. I’ve read the first two books in Michael Grant’s Gone series (Gone & Hunger, I think), and while I wasn’t a massive fan, I loved his creativity and I’m interested to read more of his work.

2. That concept. I mean, woah. It’s easily become one of my most highly anticipated books of 2016. Female soldiers? WWII? Feminism? Yes, yes, and did I mention yes?

BAM-thats-what-im-talking-about

3. One of the biggest problems I had with Gone & Hunger was their subtle sexism – there’s no real positive female characters, they’re all arm candy for the hero males or incredibly shallow. Now he’s writing a book with three female protagonists? I’m hoping to see some improvement there.

4. The WWII setting is going to remind me of Captain America who is my ALL-TIME FAVOURITE HUMAN BEING EVER! And a lot of my favourite movies (Captain America: The Winter Soldier, The Book Thief & The Imitation Game)  or are also set during this time period so no pressure or anything, but I’m expecting a lot!

Question of the Day: Have you seen the Captain America movies (The First Avenger & The Winter Soldier, FYI) or any of the other movies I mentioned? Thoughts? Oh, and are you are a Marvel fan?

 

Rachel Lightwood

Rachel Lightwood

I'm an avid reader (obviously), Pinterest addict, history nerd, coffee drinker, feminist, couch potato, pianist, vegetarian, lover of crime shows, die-hard HP fan and Captain America-obsessed.

Tags: , , ,

Like what you see? Enter your email here to get Quite the Novel Idea directly in your mail box. Great, huh?

Enter your e-mail address below to receive new posts directly in your inbox!

8 responses to “{WoW #109} Front Lines by Michael Grant

  1. YAY! I HAVE THIS AND ASDFGHJKL I AM SO EXCITED.

    I really do love Michael Grant’s gone series and fangasm about it to the max. It’s a shame you couldn’t like it. But what about the Breeze? And Dekka? They are shown in a pretty positive light. But either way, if you didn’t like it, you didn’t like it and I get that not every book is for every one.

    I’m not a big fan of Captain America’s but as the points you mentioned as to why this book sounds epic, it sounds good to me too. I hope it won’t disappoint!

    • I KNOW, RIGHT? I’M CRYING!

      I think I need to go back and read the Gone series. The more I think about it, the less I’m remembering why I found it a little sexist. I know there were main female characters, but I don’t even know.

      Nooooo, not a Captain America fan? You make me weep! Kidding, kidding… well, a little. 😉

  2. I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO THIS SO MUCH TOO. And I’ve actually got a review-copy request in so *fingers and toes and eyeballs crossed* I can just hope. XD Ohhh, but I didn’t really think Gone was sexist? Eeep. I’d need to reread it. (I read them all like 4 years ago and, shamefully, wasn’t really knowledgeable about that kind of thing. I KNOW. IT’S BAD.) I remember Astrid, Dekka and Brenna being amazing, though?

  3. I’m still unsure about whether I want to read this book but it does sound interesting. I do enjoy all of the Marvel movies but growing up my dad was DC comics all the way so I have a soft spot for DC heroes!! I loved The Book Thief movie, it totally made me shed a tear but, I still didn’t cry as hard as I did when I read the book,(thank goodness because that would have been embarrassing in theaters). Have you read Code Name Verity? That book is really great and it is about girls fighting during WWII

    • I haven’t see any DC movies before. How sad is that? I want to be, but I just know I”m a Marvel girl at heart and don’t want to like betray my Captain America… weird logic, but I’m might try a Batman movie someday. The Book Thief movie is so beautiful and totally cry-worthy. I was completely sobbing in the movie theatres which was awkward. No, but I have read Code Name Verity yet but its on my shelf to read so I might try and pick these holidays. Thanks for the rec!

      Rachel Lightwood recently posted: {WoW #109} Front Lines by Michael Grant

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)