{Waiting for Wednesday} It Started With Spindle Fire Amateurs

Posted July 6, 2016 by Bee, Liza & Leah in Waiting on Wednesday / 10 Comments

Waiting on Wed

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine in which we have the opportunity to let others know about books that we are eagerly waiting for.

Bee

{Waiting for Wednesday} It Started With Spindle Fire Amateurs

Spindle Fire


by Lexa Hillyer
Published on April 11th 2017
by HarperCollins
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling
Goodreads

Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo, Spindle Fire is an enthralling, wholly original re-imagining of a classic faerie story.

Half-sisters Isabelle and Aurora are polar opposites: Isabelle is the king’s headstrong illegitimate daughter, whose sight was tithed by faeries; Aurora, beautiful and sheltered, was tithed her sense of touch and voice on the same day. Despite their differences, the sisters have always been extremely close.

And then everything changes, with a single drop of Aurora’s blood, a Faerie Queen who is preparing for war, a strange and enchanting dream realm—and a sleep so deep it cannot be broken.

Spindle Fire is a tour de force fantasy set in the dwindling, deliciously corrupt world of the fae, and featuring two truly unforgettable heroines.

Why I’m waiting: I love fairy tale retellings, but I have yet to read one for Sleeping Beauty that I truly love and this one sounds like it could do the job. Also, HI HAVE YOU SEEN THAT COVER? I mean… It’s so pretty!

Liza

{Waiting for Wednesday} It Started With Spindle Fire Amateurs

It Started With Goodbye


by Christina June
Published on May 9th 2017
by HarperCollins
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Goodreads

Sixteen-year-old Tatum Elsea is bracing for the worst summer of her life. After being falsely accused of a crime, she’s stuck under stepmother-imposed house arrest and her BFF’s gone ghost. Tatum fills her newfound free time with community service by day and working at her covert graphic design business at night (which includes trading emails with a cute cello-playing client). When Tatum discovers she’s not the only one in the house keeping secrets, she finds she has the chance to make amends with her family and friends. Equipped with a new perspective, and assisted by her feisty step-abuela-slash-fairy-godmother, Tatum is ready to start fresh and maybe even get her happy ending along the way.

A modern play on the Cinderella story arc, Christina June’s IT STARTED WITH GOODBYE shows us that sometimes going after what you want means breaking the rules.

Why I’m waiting: Christina is a member of our YADC group and was one of the bloggers behind Allodoxophobia (no longer in existence) and I’ve known her for years.  I cannot wait to read the book that she’s been working so hard on. I’m sure it will be as lovely as she is 🙂

Rachel

{Waiting for Wednesday} It Started With Spindle Fire Amateurs

The Amateurs


by Sara Shepard
Series: The Amateurs #1
Published on November 1st 2016
by Disney Hyperion
Genres: Young Adult, Mystery
Goodreads

As soon as Seneca Frazier sees the post on the Case Not Closed website about Helena Kelly, she’s hooked. Helena’s high-profile disappearance five years earlier is the one that originally got Seneca addicted to true crime. It’s the reason she’s a member of the site in the first place.

So when Maddy Wright, her best friend from the CNC site, invites Seneca to spend spring break in Connecticut looking into the cold case, she immediately packs her bag. But the moment she steps off the train in trendy, glamorous Dexby, things begin to go wrong. Maddy is nothing like she expected, and Helena’s sister, Aerin Kelly, seems completely hostile and totally uninterested in helping with their murder investigation.

But when Brett, another super user from the site, joins Seneca and Maddy in Dexby, Aerin starts to come around. The police must have missed something, and someone in Dexby definitely has information they’ve been keeping quiet.

As Seneca, Brett, Maddy, and Aerin begin to unravel dark secrets and shocking betrayals about the people closest to them, they seem to be on the murderer’s trail at last. But somewhere nearby the killer is watching . . . ready to do whatever it takes to make sure the truth stays buried.

Why I’m waiting:

  1. I love mysteries and thrillers if you didn’t know. It’s actually my favourite genre!
  2. I may or may not have thought I was Nancy Drew for the majority of my childhood so amateur detectives? Umm, yes please.
  3. I, uh, may even subscribe to one of these types of websites too because I’ve also been fascinated by true crime since I was twelve years old. I’ve literally wanted to write non-fiction true crime for years and years. No, that’s not a weird or morbid hobby at all!
  4. I’ve started Shepard’s Pretty Little Liars series and I’m actually enjoying it for the more part so I do want to read more of her books. I think she has a great way with characters.
  5. The cover is actually kind of adorable… which is not a shallow reason at all.

What are you waiting for this week?

Bee, Liza & Leah

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Like what you see? Enter your email here to get Quite the Novel Idea directly in your mail box. Great, huh?

Enter your e-mail address below to receive new posts directly in your inbox!

10 responses to “{Waiting for Wednesday} It Started With Spindle Fire Amateurs

  1. Oh OH I had Spindle Fire added on GR but I hadn’t seen the cover yet! IT’S GORGEOUS AND I NEED IT IN MY LIFE IMMEDIATELY AFJDKSLADJ And now I’m intrigued by The Amateurs too! I hadn’t heard of that but looooove me a good crimey book.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.