{Waiting on Wednesday} The Owls Have Come To Take Us Away

Posted March 14, 2018 by Bee in Waiting on Wednesday / 28 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday is a meme hosted by Wishful Endings, in which we have the opportunity to let others know about books that we are eagerly waiting for

Bee

{Waiting on Wednesday} The Owls Have Come To Take Us Away

The Owls Have Come To Take Us Away

by Ronald L. Smith
Published on February 19th 2019
by Clarion Books
Genres: Middle Grade, Horror
Goodreads
Also by this author: Hoodoo, The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away

In this delightfully creepy novel from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award winner Ronald L. Smith, twelve-year-old Simon thinks he was abducted by aliens. But is it real, or just his over-active imagination? Perfect for fans of Mary Downing Hahn and Louis Sachar.

Twelve-year-old Simon is obsessed with aliens. The ones who take people and do experiments. When he's too worried about them to sleep, he listens to the owls hoot outside. Owls that have the same eyes as aliens—dark and foreboding.

Then something strange happens on a camping trip, and Simon begins to suspect he’s been abducted. But is it real, or just the overactive imagination of a kid who loves fantasy and role-playing games and is the target of bullies and his father’s scorn?

Even readers who don’t believe in UFOs will relate to the universal kid feeling of not being taken seriously by adults that deepens this deliciously scary tale.

Why I’m Waiting: I love Middle Grade books and occasionally I do love creepy, scary books and this one just sounds fantastic! Also that cover is gorgeous and I want to hang it on my wall like a poster.

Liza

{Waiting on Wednesday} The Owls Have Come To Take Us Away

Our Stories, Our Voices

by Amy Reed
Published on August 14th 2018
by Simon Pulse
Genres: Anthologies, Nonfiction
Goodreads

From Amy Reed, Ellen Hopkins, Amber Smith, Sandhya Menon, and more of your favorite YA authors comes an anthology of essays that explore the diverse experiences of injustice, empowerment, and growing up female in America.

This collection of twenty-one essays from major YA authors—including award-winning and bestselling writers—touches on a powerful range of topics related to growing up female in today’s America, and the intersection with race, religion, and ethnicity. Sure to inspire hope and solidarity to anyone who reads it, Our Stories, Our Voices belongs on every young woman’s shelf.

This anthology features essays from Martha Brockenbrough, Jaye Robin Brown, Sona Charaipotra, Brandy Colbert, Somaiya Daud, Christine Day, Alexandra Duncan, Ilene Wong (I.W.) Gregorio, Maurene Goo. Ellen Hopkins, Stephanie Kuehnert, Nina LaCour, Anna-Marie McLemore, Sandhya Menon, Hannah Moskowitz, Julie Murphy, Aisha Saeed, Jenny Torres Sanchez, Amber Smith, and Tracy Walker.

Why I’m Waiting: Because it’s a current topic and it creates awareness and tolerance among young adults of diversity.

Leah

{Waiting on Wednesday} The Owls Have Come To Take Us Away

For a Muse of Fire

by Heidi Heilig
Series: For a Muse of Fire #1
Published on September 25th 2018
by Greenwillow Books
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy
Goodreads
Also by this author: The Girl From Everywhere

A young woman with a dangerous power she barely understands. A smuggler with secrets of his own. A country torn between a merciless colonial army, a terrifying tyrant, and a feared rebel leader.

The first book in a new trilogy from the acclaimed Heidi Heilig blends traditional storytelling with ephemera for a lush, page-turning tale of escape and rebellion. For a Muse of Fire will captivate fans of Sabaa Tahir, Leigh Bardugo, and Renée Ahdieh.

Jetta’s family is famed as the most talented troupe of shadow players in the land. With Jetta behind the scrim, their puppets seem to move without string or stick—a trade secret, they say. In truth, Jetta can see the souls of the recently departed and bind them to the puppets with her blood. But the old ways are forbidden ever since the colonial army conquered their country, so Jetta must never show, never tell. Her skill and fame are her family’s way to earn a spot aboard the royal ship to Aquitan, where shadow plays are the latest rage, and where rumor has it the Mad King has a spring that cures his ills. Because seeing spirits is not the only thing that plagues Jetta. But as rebellion seethes and as Jetta meets a young smuggler, she will face truths and decisions that she never imagined—and safety will never seem so far away.

Heidi Heilig creates a vivid, rich world inspired by Asian cultures and French colonialism. Her characters are equally complex and nuanced, including the bipolar heroine. Told from Jetta’s first-person point-of-view, as well as chapters written as play scripts and ephemera such as telegrams and letters, For a Muse of Fire is an engrossing journey that weaves magic, simmering romance, and the deep bonds of family with the high stakes of epic adventure.

Why I’m Waiting: The premise sounds so epic, and that cover is a wonder!

What are you waiting for this week?

Bee

Bee

Bee (born as Bieke) is 27 years old and from Belgium. (No she won't send waffles.) She's a strange, nerdy and anxious creature floating around somewhere on the ace spectrum. Oh, and she also writes books as Nelly B. Jones. Or tries to anyway. You can also find her on Novel Ink.

Tags: , , ,

Like what you see? Enter your email here to get Quite the Novel Idea directly in your mail box. Great, huh?

Enter your e-mail address below to receive new posts directly in your inbox!

28 responses to “{Waiting on Wednesday} The Owls Have Come To Take Us Away

  1. Great picks, this is actually the first time I heard about all these books and they all looks and sounds absolutely fantastic and amazing. I hope you enjoy them when you get the chance to read them. Thank you so much for stopping by my CWW last week.

  2. Leah

    The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away looks so freaking good! I’ve been meaning to read his debut novel (Hoodoo). Hopefully I can get to both this year.

  3. So many amazing titles here! I enjoy a good middle grade every once in awhile myself. I had no idea that Heidi Heilig has a new series in the works. It sounds really interesting. Thanks for sharing these. 🙂

  4. These all sound so wonderful! I totally understand why you would want to hang the owl’s cover up on your wall! It’s so creepy and atmospheric!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.