Review: V is for Villain

Posted May 5, 2014 by Liza in Reviews / 1 Comment

Review: V is for Villain

V is for Villain


Published on May 20th, 2014
by Disney Hyperion
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Young Adult
Format: ARC
Source: ALAMW
Amazon | Goodreads

Brad Baron is used to looking lame compared to his older brother, Blake. Though Brad's basically a genius, Blake is a superhero in the elite Justice Force. And Brad doesn't measure up at his high school, either, where powers like super-strength and flying are the norm. So when Brad makes friends who are more into political action than weight lifting, he's happy to join a new crew-especially since it means spending more time with Layla, a girl who may or may not have a totally illegal, totally secret super-power. And with her help, Brad begins to hone a dangerous new power of his own.

But when they're pulled into a web of nefarious criminals, high-stakes battles, and startling family secrets, Brad must choose which side he's on. And once he does, there's no turning back.

Perfect for fans of The AvengersIronman, and classic comic books, V is for Villain reveals that it's good to be bad.

4.5 Stars

This review was written by “B”, Liza’s 14-year-old son. 

V is for Villain is an awesome book.  It was creative, fun, and a quick read for me.

The main characters are Brad and Layla.  Brad is very ‘out there’, what I means by that is that he is very determined and cares little of what others think.  He has a hidden power and doesn’t even realizes until a friend points it out.  I can’t say more about that without giving away the story.  Layla is leaned back, she does whatever is necessary to get what she wants.  The characters are well rounded and very human.

The plot was easy to follow.  The story reminded me to the movie Sky High, except that the school was not in the sky and Brad’s brother and dad were the super heroes (not his mom.)  The writing is very detailed and easy to read.

The ending was okay, but it left me wondering if there is going to be another book, it seems like the awesome beginning to a series instead of a standalone book.

Have you read this book?  Do you like super heroes? 

Liza
Liza

Tags: , ,

Like what you see? Enter your email here to get Quite the Novel Idea directly in your mail box. Great, huh?

Enter your e-mail address below to receive new posts directly in your inbox!

One response to “Review: V is for Villain

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.