Review: V is for Villain by Peter Moore

Posted June 30, 2014 by Bee in Reviews / 6 Comments

Review: V is for Villain by Peter Moore

V is for Villain


by Peter Moore
Pages: 336
Published on May 20th 2014
by Disney Hyperion
Genres: Superheroes, Young Adult
Format: Hardcover
Source: Gifted
Amazon | B&N | Goodreads

Brad Baron is used to looking lame compared to his older brother, Blake. Though Brad's basically a genius, Blake is a superhero in the elite Justice Force. And Brad doesn't measure up at his high school, either, where powers like super-strength and flying are the norm. So when Brad makes friends who are more into political action than weight lifting, he's happy to join a new crew-especially since it means spending more time with Layla, a girl who may or may not have a totally illegal, totally secret super-power. And with her help, Brad begins to hone a dangerous new power of his own.

But when they're pulled into a web of nefarious criminals, high-stakes battles, and startling family secrets, Brad must choose which side he's on. And once he does, there's no turning back.

Perfect for fans of The Avengers, Ironman, and classic comic books, V is for Villain reveals that it's good to be bad

5 Stars

Review

V is for Villain is a mix between the movie Sky High and every single Marvel franchise I can think of. And it’s awesome. I love superhero books and this one is on the top of the list, right next to Vicious by V.E. Schwab. I couldn’t put it down once I started and I loved every single second of it.

V is for Villain is about Brad. Compared to his older brother, Brad is very ordinary. At a school where super-strength and flying are the norm, Brad doesn’t have any powers. Sure, he’s a genius, but that’s nothing for the others at school. When he gets transferred to the A-program, which is for kids that have no powers but who come from powerful families, his life changes. He meets friends that are like him and begins to develop a very dangerous power of his own. It doesn’t take long before he and his friend choose the path of being a villain.

I love it when these kind of books make you question what makes a hero and what makes a villain. The last superhero book that I read that did that was Vicious by V.E. Schwab, which I loved to bits. Though this book is not as serious as Vicious since this is YA and Vicious is Adult, I can see the similarities. You have the main guy, who is nothing really special until he develops a power that is considered too dangerous. That makes him a villain in everyone’s eyes. But then you have the supposed heroes, who aren’t really all that great if you think about it. In the first chapter, Brad almost gets killed by one of those “amazing heroes (in training)” and the only concern from the board at school was that if Brad had been killed it would have looked bad for the other guy. They don’t care that he almost died because he is not special at all. Sure he’s a genius, but that doesn’t make him a hero.

I liked Brad instantly. The way this book is written makes it seem like he wrote it. There are even little footnotes and those are awesome. Sometimes they’re informative, sometimes they’re just really funny. But I really connected with Brad. He is kind of like Professor X if he’d gone all Magneto on us. (Sorry for those of you who don’t speak nerd, haha!) Brad is an extremely powerful Telepath, a power that is illegal because it’s so dangerous. No, this is not a spoiler. It’s pretty obvious right from the start. But I loved it. I loved how the different things he can do are explained without making it boring. It was so interested and I was hooked right from the start. If this were real (a girl can dream), I’d side with Brad. Definitely.

If you love all things superheroes/superpowers, this is the book for you. It’s sort of a YA version of Vicious by V.E. Schwab, mixed with Sky High. I really hope there’ll be a sequel! I highly recommend it because, like Kirkus Reviews said: This is superhero fiction done right.

Bee

About Peter Moore

Peter Moore has been writing fiction since he was eleven years old, and became an amateur lycanthropologist even earlier. Because he studied hard in high school and ate all his vegetables, he was able to attend Vassar College and Columbia University. Though he briefly considered a career in the FBI, America can rest easy: it didn’t work out. Instead, he has worked as a screenwriter, college professor, English teacher, and guidance counselor. He lives with his wife and two kids in Westchester, New York. This is his third book for young adults. He strongly denies all rumors that he is a werewolf. Still, he won’t say where he goes every month during the full moon.

Tags: , , ,

Like what you see? Enter your email here to get Quite the Novel Idea directly in your mail box. Great, huh?

Enter your e-mail address below to receive new posts directly in your inbox!

6 responses to “Review: V is for Villain by Peter Moore

  1. Melanie (YA Midnight Reads)

    I have heard a lot of good things about this book so I am glad that you also really enjoyed it! Will try and read it sometime before the end of the year, hopefully >.<

    Awesome review! <33

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.