Review {Strange Skies by Kristi Helvig}

Posted May 7, 2015 by Liza in Reviews / 3 Comments

Review {Strange Skies by Kristi Helvig}

Strange Skies


by Kristi Helvig
Published on April 28th, 2015
by Egmont USA
Genres: Action & Adventure, Romance, Science Fiction, Young Adult
Format: eARC
Source: Netgalley
Amazon | B&N | BookDepository | Goodreads

Also by this author: Burn Out

Action, adventure, and romance are heating up in this sequel to the futuristic science fiction thriller Burn Out. Perfect for fans of Across the Universe and The Memory of After.

Caelia is the new Earth. That's what the Consulate told everyone and, against all odds, Tora finally has made it there. She can't see the ocean from her cell in the Consulate's containment center, and she doesn't know what happened to the weapons her father died for and she's risked her life to save.

But as she plans her escape, she runs into the last person she ever expected to see-her dad. The Consulate has kept held him prisoner in a complicated plot designed to lure Tora out of hiding. Now Tora has a new purpose: break free, get the guns, and save her father.

But first she'll have to navigate a strange new planet, track down James (whose loyalties still remain questionable), and find Kale…before he finds her first.

4 Stars

I really enjoyed Burn Out, the first book in the series and I was eagerly waiting for Strange Skies.  When I managed to grab a galley, I quickly read it and in my typical review procrastinating ways, I didn’t wrote the review. Until now.  The good news is that I loved Strange Skies J

Burn Out ended with a cruel cliffhanger and I was dying to know what happened to Tora.  Strange Skies starts a few months after the ending of the first book and finds Tora in a Consulate facility and drugged to the gills.  She can’t tell what happened or how she got there, but in a typical Tora fashion she decides to escape. Lucky for her Alec was there to help her.  While at the facility Tora finds out a BIG secret, of course, I can’t tell you what it is because is a secret (duh.)

Tora finds herself in Caelia, a new planet Earth-like that the Consulate has prepared according to their controlling and idealistic ways.  For that, they still need Tora’s stash of guns and thus they keep looking for her.

Tora is funny, snarky, kick-a, mouthy, loyal and brave.  In this book we get to know her a bit more and I fully enjoyed my time with her. I like James now.  I did say in my review of Burn Out that I wasn’t feeling him, but I like him now.   The romance is more prominent in this book and I loved it.  I like that Tora and James were no longer afraid to speak their mind and to show affection for each other.

Markus is recovering from the death of his friend and in a permanent state of drunkenness. That is, until Tora comes back and straighten him out.  Alec still has a crush on Tora, but knows that he doesn’t have a chance while James is around.  I really loved all these characters and even a few of the new ones 🙂

Kale remains his messed up selfish self, but in this books he has no restraint and shows all his ugly feathers (can you tell I did not like Kale?)  He is

The plot is intricate, but understandable.  The writing is enthralling, it takes talent to write sci-fi (and fantasy) when the subject matter can only be found in the author’s imagination. I really like the setting – Caelia is a new planet to all of them. It has new fauna and flora, different moons and the length of a “day” is much shorter.  It has plenty of water which is a foreign and novel idea to the members of the rebellion. The ending was sufficient, but I still feel that there is room for more since not everything was accomplished.  I mean, what happened to the Consulate? Where are the guns? Where did James and company go at the end? See what I mean!

Overall, Strange Skies was a great follow up to Burn Out and I sure hope that it’s not the end of the series because there is still room for more Tora awesomeness. 

Liza

About Kristi Helvig

Kristi Helvig is a Ph.D. Clinical Psychologist turned sci-fi/fantasy writer. You can find her musing about space monkeys, Star Trek, and other random topics on her blog. Kristi resides in sunny Colorado with her hubby, kids, and behaviorally-challenged dogs.

Liza

Tags: , , , ,

Like what you see? Enter your email here to get Quite the Novel Idea directly in your mail box. Great, huh?

Enter your e-mail address below to receive new posts directly in your inbox!

3 responses to “Review {Strange Skies by Kristi Helvig}

    • Liza
      Twitter:

      I’m really liking it, especially the second book. It’s supposed to be a trilogy, so I hope that whomever bought this series (Egmont USA closed) manages to publish the last book soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.