Review: Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke

Posted November 3, 2013 by Bee in Reviews / 2 Comments

Review: Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea


by April Genevieve Tucholke
Series: Between #1
Pages: 217
Published on August 15th 2013
by Dial books for Young Readers
Genres: Gothic Horror, Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads

Also by this author: Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea, Between the Spark and the Burn

You stop fearing the Devil when you're holding his hand...

Nothing much exciting rolls through Violet White's sleepy, seaside town...until River West comes along. River rents the guesthouse behind Violet's crumbling estate, and as eerie, grim things start to happen, Violet begins to wonder about the boy living in her backyard. Is River just a crooked-smiling liar with pretty eyes and a mysterious past? Or could he be something more? Violet's grandmother always warned her about the Devil, but she never said he could be a dark-haired boy who takes naps in the sun, who likes coffee, who kisses you in a cemetery...who makes you want to kiss back. Violet's already so knee-deep in love, she can't see straight. And that's just how River likes it.

A gothic thriller romance with shades of Stephen King and F. Scott Fitzgerald, set against a creepy summertime backdrop — a must-read for fans of Beautiful Creatures, The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, and Anna Dressed in Blood.

4.5 Stars
Review

Now I’m not an expert on it, but I’d say this is a very VERY good example of a great gothic horror book with romance. It gave me the chills all the time and I loved the creepy vibe it gave me. This definitely is a good Halloween read.

Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea is a haunting novel about Violet. She lives in a quiet old town called Echo. Well, a bit outside it in a very big mansion at the sea. Her parents are gone and she lives there alone with her twin brother Luke. Until the mysterious River comes along the rent the guest house. There’s just something about him that pulls Violet in and her brother notices it too. And then strange things begin to happen in and around town.

betweenslide

I’ll tell you what, this book had some great world-building. The setting was amazing. The mansion, the town, the cemetery,… Everything had such a creepy vibe and I got chills the entire time. I could picture it all in my head live a movie. One of those classic gothic horror movies. Almost no sunshine but grey skies and stuff. And a lot of that was the great writing. If that wasn’t good, the story wouldn’t have been this good either. The romance had the same vibe, even though I don’t really know if you can call it a romance. I just loved everything about the story. Plus, it’s really original too. And it hooked me the entire time. I just couldn’t let it go.

I loved the characters in this book. Violet was such a great main character. She’s so quirky and weird. She loves reading more than going out sociolizing, she dresses in her dead grandmothers vintage clothes just to feel close to her. I just love her. People think she’s a snob because she comes from a rich family even though her family isn’t rich anymore. And she’s so clever and caring. Her parents are gone, but she feels responsible to make sure her brother is taken care off and they have enough money to pay for food. I love Luke too. He seems like a typical boy, but he cares a lot about his sister even though he doesn’t show it much. Sunshine is such a bright person and she brought a little sunshine into the dull grey town. And I loved River. Even though I don’t think I should.

To sum it up, a great novel that’ll haunt you and won’t let you go. I highly recommend this to fans of paranormal or gothic horror. Also, that title is ridiculously long and the author’s name is too.

autograph bieke

Bee

About April Genevieve Tucholke

April Genevieve Tucholke is the author of Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea and its sequel, Between the Spark and the Burn. She loves classic horror movies and coffee. She has lived in many places, including Scotland, and currently resides in Oregon with her husband Nate Pedersen.

Tags: , , , ,

Like what you see? Enter your email here to get Quite the Novel Idea directly in your mail box. Great, huh?

Enter your e-mail address below to receive new posts directly in your inbox!

2 responses to “Review: Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.