{Review} All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace

Posted January 31, 2020 by Leah in Reviews / 2 Comments

{Review} All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace

All the Stars and Teeth (All the Stars and Teeth, #1)


by Adalyn Grace
Pages: 384
Published on February 4, 2020
by Imprint
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Young Adult
Format: ARC
Source: Borrowed
Goodreads

She will reign.
As princess of the island kingdom Visidia, Amora Montara has spent her entire life training to be High Animancer—the master of souls. The rest of the realm can choose their magic, but for Amora, it’s never been a choice. To secure her place as heir to the throne, she must prove her mastery of the monarchy’s dangerous soul magic.
When her demonstration goes awry, Amora is forced to flee. She strikes a deal with Bastian, a mysterious pirate: he’ll help her prove she’s fit to rule, if she’ll help him reclaim his stolen magic.
But sailing the kingdom holds more wonder—and more peril—than Amora anticipated. A destructive new magic is on the rise, and if Amora is to conquer it, she’ll need to face legendary monsters, cross paths with vengeful mermaids, and deal with a stow-away she never expected… or risk the fate of Visidia and lose the crown forever.
I am the right choice. The only choice. And I will protect my kingdom.
Set in a kingdom where danger lurks beneath the sea, mermaids seek vengeance with song, and magic is a choice, Adalyn Grace’s All the Stars and Teeth is a thrilling fantasy for fans of Stephanie Garber’s Caraval and Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series.

3.5 Stars

As far as YA novels featuring pirates go, my expectations have shipwrecked many times. All the Stars and Teeth caught my attention because of its gorgeous cover, and its promise of high-seas adventure and mermaids. I was hesitant since my track record with pirate books is so abysmal, but managed to borrow an ARC.

I can tell you that there is a lot of potential in All the Stars and Teeth. The world is rich and complex, an island chain where each inhabitant practices magic. Depending on which island you live in determines which magic you use: one island specializes in time manipulation, another is fabricating the most lavish items. Amora is a princess who is good at soul magic–able to look into a person’s inner most thoughts and feelings, and also use her powers for a greater purpose. Her father has sheltered her for all of her life, so when her demonstration of her power for her kingdom goes awry, she has to flee.

I was bored with the first half of the book. Since this is a first book, the infodumping of the world happens constantly. New characters, like Bastian, a boy with a mysterious past, are introduced to present new information. Amora’s naivete, while understandable, leads to some decisions that risks her and her companions lives. There’s a good portion of jumping around to a few islands to show Amora just how much she doesn’t know about her own home.

Image result for you know nothing jon snow

Several things happen that do not have anything to do with the plot. View Spoiler » Since this is a planned duology, I think these moments might come into play in the second book.

Things changed for me when the mermaid was introduced. Once she joins Amora on her quest, the plot picks up. The mermaid was fascinating; I wish the book was about her. I’m glad I stuck with the book,  for the mermaid and the trove of surprises to be found along the way. I was pleasantly surprised with the direction Amora chose. Naive this girl may be, but at the end of the day, she can kick butt.

And of course, there is enough of a cliffhanger to hook me in to reading the second book. If the potential in All the Stars and Teeth is this promising, I can’t wait to see what the second book has to offer. Also, more mermaid, please.

Leah
Leah

Tags:

Like what you see? Enter your email here to get Quite the Novel Idea directly in your mail box. Great, huh?

Enter your e-mail address below to receive new posts directly in your inbox!

2 responses to “{Review} All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.