{Review} A Court of Thorns & Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Posted May 18, 2015 by Bee in Reviews / 17 Comments

{Review} A Court of Thorns & Roses by Sarah J. MaasA Court of Thorns & Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Pages: 416
Published on May 5th 2015
by Bloomsbury Publishing
Genres: Fantasy, New Adult, Retelling
Format: Hardcover
Source: Gifted
Amazon | B&N | Goodreads
Also by this author: Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

5 Stars

Leave it to Sarah J. Maas to drag me out of the biggest slump I’ve ever had with a faerie book, of all things. And now I suddenly feel like watching the Disney movie Beauty and the Beast… I wonder why?

A Court of Thorns & Roses is about Feyre. After she kills a wolf in the woods during a hunting trip, a beast-like creature comes to her home asking for retribution. He offers her mercy if she comes with him to live in a magical land Feyre only knows from legends. The more time she spends there, the more she comes to now this beast that took her away from her home. This beast that’s not a beast at all, but one of the lethal, immortal faeries that once ruled their world. With a dark shadow looming over the land, Feyre has to find a way to stop it or doom Tamlin and his world forever.

This is a Beauty and the Beast retelling. Not gonna lie, that’s probably the reason I ended up loving this book to bits. I’m not a fan of faerie books at all, but Sarah J. Maas seems to know me and just decides to mix it with my favorite fairy tale/Disney movie ever. And it works. Brilliantly at that. This book is perfect and it sure as hell pulled me out of the slump I’ve been in for weeks now. It saved my life, honestly. I don’t know what I would’ve done if I’d been in that slump any longer. So thank you, Sarah. I owe you one. And my best friend Stephanie for giving me this book.

tumblr_m7x4bvbdIc1qlt9tyo1_500

It totally had a moment like this. For real.

Do I even have to tell how perfect the writing was? I expect nothing less of this author by now. She’s just that good. And of course I loved the characters. I loved Feyre as a main character and Tamlin, Lucien, Rhysand and Alis and everyone. They all had so much depth and the chemistry between Feyre and Tamlin was perfect. Some scenes in this book totally reminded me of Beauty and the Beast, by the way, and I loved that. I just love fairy tale retellings in general, but even more when they seem to have nods to their Disney versions as well.

The romance was nothing short of perfect too. It wasn’t too slow, but not too fast either. It’s not insta-love at all and there’s no love triangle so yeah, I’m one happy camper. Also, this book is hot. Around the 50% mark, it starts sizzling and swoonworthy and I was really dizzy a few times. In a good way. So very awesome! It had the right amound of build-up and everything. Sparks were flying all over the place.

A Court of Thorns and Roses was everything I wanted and more. If you love fantasy or fae books, you have to read this book. If you’re a fan of Disney’s Beauty and the Beast and you’re looking for a great retelling of it with a new twist, read this book! Seriously. Okay, if you’re a fan of books, read this. So everyone has to buy this and love it. Now. You should be reading already. Excuse me while I go watch Beauty and the Beast again.

sign

Bee

About Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas is the author of the New York Times, USA Today, and internationally bestselling Throne of Glass series–Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, and Heir of Fire, and the series’ prequel, The Assassin’s Blade–as well as the New York Times and USA Today bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses. She wrote the first incarnation of the Throne of Glass series when she was just sixteen, and it has now sold in twenty-three languages. Queen of Shadows, the fourth book in the Throne of Glass series, will release worldwide on September 1st, 2015.
A New York native, Sarah currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and dog. She graduated Magna Cum Laude from Hamilton College in 2008 with a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Religious Studies.

Bee

Bee (born as Bieke) is 26 years old and from Belgium. (No she won't send waffles.) She's a strange, nerdy and anxious creature floating around somewhere on the ace spectrum. Oh, and she also writes books as Nelly B. Jones. Or tries to anyway. You can also find her on Novel Ink.

Tags: , , ,

Like what you see? Enter your email here to get Quite the Novel Idea directly in your mail box. Great, huh?

Enter your e-mail address below to receive new posts directly in your inbox!

17 responses to “{Review} A Court of Thorns & Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I’m SO happy this book swept you up and took you out of your reading slump, Bieke! I’m just getting ready to read this myself and I’m so excited to see how she spins this story!
    Wonderful review, B! I’ll be looking for my own video and grabbing my girls for some Beauty and the Beast time 🙂

  2. This is the first time I’m on your blog and can I just say that your layout is freaking marvellous? I’m in love with it so much and I’ve only looked at it for like 30 seconds [straight.] Haha.

    I totally agree with this review. I actually didn’t like fae too much before this but I was willing to give Sarah a chance because of the hype and this book did not let me down! Also, ACOTAR is my FIRST Sarah book so now I’m excited to check out her other stuff.

    Nova @ Out of Time recently posted: The Evolution of My Blog Design

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)