Review {A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas}

Posted September 14, 2015 by Liza in Reviews / 10 Comments

Review {A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas}

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)


by Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Pages: 416
Published on May 5th 2015
by Bloomsbury Children's
Genres: Romance
Amazon | B&N | BookDepository | Goodreads

Also by this author: Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, Heir of Fire

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it... or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

5 Stars

I love epic fantasies, impossibly beautiful fairies, true romance, difficult quests, and retellings.  All of these and more can be abundantly found within the covers of A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR).  From the cover, until the last word the reader is taken in an amazing journey into the world of fairies.

One of my favorite fairy tales is Beauty and the Beast.  I feel myself drawn to the story over and over.  To the possibility of falling in love with the person inside the beast, with the girl that goes off to the unknown because of her family, with the idea that love does conquered all.  ACOTAR is one of the best retellings of B&B because it combines this and much more.

Feyre’s had a hard life.  She lives in a small cottage, in a life of poverty and struggle, with her father and two older sisters.  In order to survive, she learned to hunt.  One day she kills a wolf in the woods that happenes to be Fae and she’s is taken away by a huge beast into Fairy Lands.  The beast turns out to be Tamlin, the High Lord of the Spring Court.  Together with Lucien, Tamlin’s emissary and best friend, they keep an eye on Fayre.

Fayre is very smart, although she’s illiterate (I hope this is remedied on the next book because it’s just sad!).  She thinks like a hunter and her instincts are spot-on.  She’s always looking for a way to escape, to survive, to protect herself.  She’s introduced to the life at court slowly.  She’s given freedom to roam as long as she keeps within the Spring Court, she’s given paints and more importantly, respect, appreciating and eventually, love.

“Don’t feel bad for one moment about doing what brings you joy.”

Tamlin is quite, thoughtful, sad, constant, and often in a bad mood.  He’s fighting a “blight” that has stricken all the courts and he has a fraction of the power that he once had. I love Tamlin and the patience that he had with Fayre. Their relationship was slow to develop and full of secrets and even some guilt on both parts.  There are a few steamy scenes in the book, so younger readers should tread carefully.

“His throat bobbled. His kiss that time was deep and thorough, unhurried and intent.

I let the dawn creep inside me, let it grow with each movement of his lips and brush of his tongue against mine. Tears pricked beneath my closed eyes.

It was the happiest moment of my life.”

On the eve of a sure attack to the court, Tamlin send Fayre back home to her family in order to keep her safe.  Thanks to Tamlin her family is  now very rich, but Fayre realizes that she has to go back to make sure that Tamlin is okay, she no longer fits within her family.  This is where the second part of the story starts. 

“I love you,” he whispered, and kissed my brow. “Thorns and all.”

Fayre sacrifices SO much for Tamlin.  She’s suffers a lot, both mentally and physically in order to save him and return his powers to him.  Rhysand is sort of our villain.  He’s the lover of the bad queen and a High Lord too.  He only plays to win and he always bets on himself.  For some reason, he’s interested in Fayre and he helps her, but on his awful terms.  The convoluted logic of his makes no sense to me, or anyone with an iota of decency.  I don’t hate him (he did help Fayre), but I don’t like him either.

“Rhysand stared at me for long enough that I faced him.

“Be glad of your human heart, Feyre. Pity those who don’t feel anything at all.”

I loved the story.  The world building, the plot, the dialogue, the descriptions, are all perfect.  If you’ve read any of Maas’ books, you know that she’s an amazing writer (if you haven’t, what are you waiting for?!) I cannot wait for the next book.  I cannot wait to continue Fayre and Tamlin’s story.

Sarah J. Maas can do no wrong in my eyes.  In the mist of her Throne of Glass series, she started another trilogy that manages to be as good, just in a different way.  I adored ACOTAR, it is one of the best books I’ve read, not only this year, but possible ever.  I cannot recommend it enough and I hope you read it, and love it as I did.

Check out Maas’ Pintrest board for the series, it is SO pretty 🙂

Liza

About Sarah J. Maas

Sarah J. Maas is the author of the New York Times, USA Today, and internationally bestselling Throne of Glass series–Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, and Heir of Fire, and the series’ prequel, The Assassin’s Blade–as well as the New York Times and USA Today bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses. She wrote the first incarnation of the Throne of Glass series when she was just sixteen, and it has now sold in twenty-three languages. Queen of Shadows, the fourth book in the Throne of Glass series, will release worldwide on September 1st, 2015.
A New York native, Sarah currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and dog. She graduated Magna Cum Laude from Hamilton College in 2008 with a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Religious Studies.

Liza

Tags: , , , ,

Like what you see? Enter your email here to get Quite the Novel Idea directly in your mail box. Great, huh?

Enter your e-mail address below to receive new posts directly in your inbox!

10 responses to “Review {A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas}

  1. Wow, you loved this one a lot! That is great. I struggled towards the end (haaaate what I’m hearing about the romance in the books to follow, from what Sarah told people at BEA). I don’t know if I’ll be able to finish the series! It was peer pressure last year that made me read it to begin with. O_O Perhaps I’ll await your opinion on book two. 😉

    Fabulous review, Liza!

    Alyssa @ The Eater of Books!

    Alyssa Susanna (The Eater of Books!) recently posted: Swoon Thursday (#138): Dirty Talk by Megan Erickson
    • Liza
      Twitter:

      I thought you liked it Alyssa! I loved this one, it wasn’t perfect, but still great. I thought it was a duology and now it seems like it will be a trilogy. I hope to avoid the angst and NOT see a love triangle. I guess we shall see 🙂

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.