{Mini Reviews} Storm of Locusts by Rebecca Roanhorse; Winterwood by Shea Ernshaw; Mooncakes by Suzanne Walker

Posted July 10, 2020 by Leah in Reviews / 4 Comments

{Mini Reviews} Storm of Locusts by Rebecca Roanhorse; Winterwood by Shea Ernshaw; Mooncakes by Suzanne Walker

Storm of Locusts (The Sixth World, #2)


by Rebecca Roanhorse
Pages: 313
Published on April 23, 2019
by Saga Press
Genres: Adult, Dystopian
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased
Amazon | B&N | Goodreads

Also by this author: Trail of Lightning (The Sixth World, #1)

It’s been four weeks since the bloody showdown at Black Mesa, and Maggie Hoskie, Diné monster hunter, is trying to make the best of things. Only her latest bounty hunt has gone sideways, she’s lost her only friend, Kai Arviso, and she’s somehow found herself responsible for a girl with a strange clan power.
Then the Goodacre twins show up at Maggie’s door with the news that Kai and the youngest Goodacre, Caleb, have fallen in with a mysterious cult, led by a figure out of Navajo legend called the White Locust. The Goodacres are convinced that Kai’s a true believer, but Maggie suspects there’s more to Kai’s new faith than meets the eye. She vows to track down the White Locust, then rescue Kai and make things right between them.
Her search leads her beyond the Walls of Dinétah and straight into the horrors of the Big Water world outside. With the aid of a motley collection of allies, Maggie must battle body harvesters, newborn casino gods and, ultimately, the White Locust himself. But the cult leader is nothing like she suspected, and Kai might not need rescuing after all. When the full scope of the White Locust’s plans are revealed, Maggie’s burgeoning trust in her friends, and herself, will be pushed to the breaking point, and not everyone will survive.

3.5 Stars

Please tell me this is not over!

After the whirlwind that was Trail of Lightning, I didn’t hesitate to buy Storm of Locusts. It picks ups a few weeks after ToL and it’s just as action-packed. Rebecca Roanhorse knew what she wanted to do with this book and it shows.

Narrator Maggie Hoskie’s tone flips from keep-away-from-me to hey-people-are-okay-I-guess. The books feel like they’re told from completely different people. I don’t know what exactly happened to make the change, but here we are. I looked back at my review for Trail of Lightning and said it was okay for Maggie to want to connect with people. Now that she wants to, I’m conflicted. I’m sorry, Maggie, I will do better by you.

No time is wasted setting the stage for this next adventure. This installment is a rush from page one as Maggie further shows us what this new world is like. That involves making alliances with reluctant parties. The world on the other side of the Wall is brutal to people; however, let’s just say Maggie’s got this. It’s an adrenaline rush. The cult leader is a fascinating character. I think more time could have been spent on his motives. What’s given here is enough to get my theories going.

The ending is a little rushed and the conclusion is wrapped up somewhat neatly. However, the ending…oh my word. I have looked obsessively on Goodreads and the author’s social media and have not seen anything about a third book’s (there are supposed to be 4) release date. Please don’t let this be an ending I never get!

 

 

{Mini Reviews} Storm of Locusts by Rebecca Roanhorse; Winterwood by Shea Ernshaw; Mooncakes by Suzanne Walker

Winterwood


by Shea Ernshaw
Pages: 323
Published on November 5, 2019
by Simon Pulse
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Amazon | B&N | Goodreads

Also by this author: The Wicked Deep

Be careful of the dark, dark wood…
Especially the woods surrounding the town of Fir Haven. Some say these woods are magical. Haunted, even.
Rumored to be a witch, only Nora Walker knows the truth. She and the Walker women before her have always shared a special connection with the woods. And it’s this special connection that leads Nora to Oliver Huntsman—the same boy who disappeared from the Camp for Wayward Boys weeks ago—and in the middle of the worst snowstorm in years. He should be dead, but here he is alive, and left in the woods with no memory of the time he’d been missing.
But Nora can feel an uneasy shift in the woods at Oliver’s presence. And it’s not too long after that Nora realizes she has no choice but to unearth the truth behind how the boy she has come to care so deeply about survived his time in the forest, and what led him there in the first place. What Nora doesn’t know, though, is that Oliver has secrets of his own—secrets he’ll do anything to keep buried, because as it turns out, he wasn’t the only one to have gone missing on that fateful night all those weeks ago.
For as long as there have been fairy tales, we have been warned to fear what lies within the dark, dark woods and in Winterwood, New York Times bestselling author Shea Ernshaw, shows us why.
From New York Times bestselling author of The Wicked Deep comes a haunting romance perfect for fans of Practical Magic, where dark fairy tales and enchanted folklore collide after a boy, believed to be missing, emerges from the magical woods—and falls in love with the witch determined to unravel his secrets.

1.5 Stars

It’s time to admit that Shea Ernshaw’s books aren’t for me. I was enchanted by the beautiful cover of Winterwood. What I got was a lot of narrator Nora telling the reader how she’s Not Like Other Girls because she lives in cabin by herself, doesn’t party or socialize, practices magic, the list goes on. Her life changes when she finds a boy in the forest surrounding her home. Honestly, I don’t remember much about him, not even his name until I read the book description again. There’s not a lot to his character other than being cute and mysterious.

The concepts would have been more interesting if they had been given more development. It was a little hard to accept things at face value when the reasons behind everything were brushed off. I love fantasy; I love the mechanisms of what makes that fantasy work even more.

In the end, I don’t know what I was supposed to get out of Winterwood. I was hungry for details I never got.

 

{Mini Reviews} Storm of Locusts by Rebecca Roanhorse; Winterwood by Shea Ernshaw; Mooncakes by Suzanne Walker

Mooncakes


by Suzanne Walker
Pages: 256
Published on October 22, 2019
by Oni Press
Genres: Graphic Novel, Fantasy, LGBT, Witches, Young Adult
Format: eBook
Source: Library
Amazon | B&N | Goodreads

A story of love and demons, family and witchcraft.
Nova Huang knows more about magic than your average teen witch. She works at her grandmothers' bookshop, where she helps them loan out spell books and investigate any supernatural occurrences in their New England town.
One fateful night, she follows reports of a white wolf into the woods, and she comes across the unexpected: her childhood crush, Tam Lang, battling a horse demon in the woods. As a werewolf, Tam has been wandering from place to place for years, unable to call any town home.
Pursued by dark forces eager to claim the magic of wolves and out of options, Tam turns to Nova for help. Their latent feelings are rekindled against the backdrop of witchcraft, untested magic, occult rituals, and family ties both new and old in this enchanting tale of self-discovery.

3 Stars

Mooncakes is a cute read that takes the reader to a world of magic. Witches, shapeshifters, spirits, and other creatures live in its pages. It’s also incredibly diverse. Nova is a young witch who lives with her grandmas (who are incredible!). Her old friend Tam comes back into her life and that little spark that was between them reignites. Their romance is cute and due to evil forces stirring in their town, they’ll do what it takes to keep each other safe.

The illustrations are whimsical and lively. Reading this graphic novel on my phone did not do them justice; I had to stop and and admire them as much as I could on the tiny screen. This is a world I’d like to visit.

The conflict is the weakest point of the book. I mentioned there are evil forces at work. There’s also someone who seems to know where Tam, the focus of the danger, is at all times. It had the possibility of building up to a great showdown. All of it, however, is wrapped up neat and tidy near the end.

I still really liked Mooncakes and hope readers can find a physical copy (they seem to be scarce) to enjoy for themselves.

Leah
Leah

Tags:

Like what you see? Enter your email here to get Quite the Novel Idea directly in your mail box. Great, huh?

Enter your e-mail address below to receive new posts directly in your inbox!

4 responses to “{Mini Reviews} Storm of Locusts by Rebecca Roanhorse; Winterwood by Shea Ernshaw; Mooncakes by Suzanne Walker

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.