Marianne Reviews {A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery}

Posted October 5, 2015 by Liza in Guest Review, Reviews / 2 Comments

Marianne Reviews {A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery}

A Million Miles Away


by Lara Avery
Pages: 320
Published on July 7th 2015
by Poppy
Genres: Adolescence, Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Amazon | B&N | BookDepository | Goodreads

Perfect for fans of Nicholas Sparks, this breathtaking story of love and loss is guaranteed to break your heart and sweep you off your feet.
When high school senior Kelsey's identical twin sister, Michelle, dies in a car crash, Kelsey is left without her other half. The only person who doesn't know about the tragedy is Michelle's boyfriend, Peter, recently deployed to Afghanistan. But when Kelsey finally connects with Peter online, she can't bear to tell him the truth. Active duty has taken its toll, and Peter, thinking that Kelsey is Michelle, says that seeing her is the one thing keeping him alive. Caught up in the moment, Kelsey has no choice: She lets Peter believe that she is her sister.
As Kelsey keeps up the act, she crosses the line from pretend to real. Soon, Kelsey can't deny that she's falling, hard, for the one boy she shouldn't want.

4 Stars

A Million Miles Away tells the story of Kelsey,  and how after her identical twin sister’s death, she finds comfort in Peter, her sister’s ex boyfriend who’s stationed in Afghanistan. 

I was really conflicted by this book at first, because how can a person pretend to be someone else? How could Kelsey really pretend to be her twin sister? It was so interesting to see how Kelsey would rationalize what she was doing. In a way, I would’ve done the exact same thing. I understood the importance of having “someone” there and how grief can transform and manipulate our feelings.

I think Kelsey herself is an interesting character. She’s honest (sometimes unflinchingly so), driven, and mostly trying to find out who she is without her twin sister. 

I like that in this book the twin aspect isn’t written as typically as one encounters in books. One twin isn’t the “smart” one while the other is the “airhead”; both twins have positive and negative traits; they’re not night and day, just people.

The romance here was actually very lowkey (less than I was expecting) but honestly I liked it that way. I liked Kelsey and Peter’s interactions because we got to know more of both of them through their emails/letters/chats, and at the same time we saw the slowly developing romance.

The secondary characters really add to the story in small ways. Kelsey’s parents show us the grief and pain that parents go through when they lose a child, and Kelsey friends show us how there are always people with us when we need them the most. I loved that they were part of the story because it made the story all the more real.

Overall, Lara Avery wrote a wonderful book about self-discovery, grief, and love. It shows us how different people cope with loss, and most of all it takes this fragile girl and shows the growth and maturity that once can achieve by dealing with grief. 

 

divider

 

Marianne

I can’t imagine my life without books. From the very first moment I picked up Twilight, and fell in love with escaping reality for a few hours at a time, I knew that reading would be a hobby that I could never let go of. Since Twilight, I’ve discovered new genres, authors, and series, that I could never have imagined. Some of my favorite titles include: Pride and PrejudiceThe Sky is Everywhere, The Book Thief, Angelfall, Peter Pan, Harry Potter, The Truth About Forever, and many more! I find a new favorite each week.

When not reading, you can find me binge-watching series on Netflix (finished Friends recently have no idea what to do with my life), fangirling on Twitter, reorganizing my bookshelves, and one-clicking on Amazon. I’m currently in college, studying Sociology. I want to become a Criminal Lawyer. Despite that, I still have a soft spot for writing, and wouldn’t mind working in a bookstore either. 😉

Follow me on BlogGoodreads, InstagramTwitter, and Tumblr

 

Liza

About Lara Avery

Lara Avery is an editor at Revolver and the author of Anything But Ordinary, which Booklist praised for its “tender and lyrical prose.” Raised in Kansas, where A Million Miles Away is set, she now lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Liza

Tags: , , , ,

Like what you see? Enter your email here to get Quite the Novel Idea directly in your mail box. Great, huh?

Enter your e-mail address below to receive new posts directly in your inbox!

2 responses to “Marianne Reviews {A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery}

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.