{Leah’s Scary Review} The Girl With All the Gifts by M.R. Carey

Posted October 9, 2017 by Leah in Reviews / 6 Comments

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
{Leah’s Scary Review} The Girl With All the Gifts by M.R. Carey

The Girl with All the Gifts

by M.R. Carey
Pages: 460
Published on June 19th 2014
by Orbit
Genres: Adult, Horror, Postapocalyptic, Science Fiction
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Goodreads

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr. Caldwell calls her "our little genius."

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite, but they don't laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children's cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she'll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn't know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.

4 Stars

I am glad I finally read The Girl With All the Gifts. So many people have talked about it, kept silent about its plot, and that’s a good thing. This is a tightly woven, well-thought out book. It also has the honor of being the most hopeful and depressing pieces of fiction I have ever read.

The world building, while bleak, is well thought out. Not a detail is wasted, and when the plot seems to wander off course, it all comes colliding back. Taking place in a heavily guarded base, children learn about the world beyond. Among them is Melanie, the girl referred to in the title, who is brilliant and fiercely loyal to her favorite teacher, Miss Justineau. The place is built on withheld information and divided loyalties. Even the people who work there have different agendas. Some of them, like the hardened Sargent Parks, are trying to survive. Miss Justineau is trying to hold on to the last piece of humanity as she can. There’s also Dr. Caldwell, whose research controls her. In a world where everyone should be unifying for their safety and well-being, watching them grow farther apart is stressful.

There is an explanation for the end of civilization. Steeped in biological science, seeing it develop right before your very eyes, is terrifying. Just another thing to add to the stress-inducing tension that is the plot. While exploring science, the book is also philosophical.”What does it mean to be human?” in the context of the world is constantly explored.

Each action of each character has an effect. Sometimes it’s beneficial; other times it’s not. These cause and effect decisions kept me on the edge of my seat. I could never quite catch my breath. Strangely, I liked this. Suspense is one of the book’s strong suits. This ill-at-ease feeling comes into play constantly as the dynamics shift for the characters and the world they live in.

It all leads to a crushing conclusion that had me sitting in stunned silence. I have never been so torn emotionally–do I feel heartbroken and cry, or do I let the tiny piece of hope comfort me? It takes skill to craft an ending that leaves you devastated yet satisfied; The Girl With All the Gifts delivers this and more. If you’re looking for something thought-provoking and creepy, The Girl With All the Gifts is a great place to start.

 

 

Leah
Leah

Leah

Co-Blogger at Quite the Novel Idea
Leah has always been a bibliophile. An avid fantasy fan, she has spent many hours imagining magical worlds and wondering what it would be like to wield a sword. When she's not dreaming up her own standalone fantasy stories, she enjoys watching movies, traveling, and eating chocolate. She lives in California.
Leah

Tags:

Like what you see? Enter your email here to get Quite the Novel Idea directly in your mail box. Great, huh?

Enter your e-mail address below to receive new posts directly in your inbox!

6 responses to “{Leah’s Scary Review} The Girl With All the Gifts by M.R. Carey

  1. I always hear so many wonderful things about this book but genuinely had no idea what it was about for the longest time. I’m really loving the sound of it and need to check it out soon. Because, obviously, my interest is picking up on its vibe. Great review! (As per usual.)

    • Leah

      I was coming up with all these theories of what the book was about before I read it. LOL. Only one of them turned out to be right. 🙂 Hope you like it and thanks for stopping by!

    • Leah

      I am all about hopeful/depressing books too! This one though just hit me hard. I may never recover. LOL.

      Thank you for stopping by! I hope you check out The Girl with All the Gifts.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.