{Leah Reviews} Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

Posted March 1, 2018 by Leah in Reviews / 13 Comments

{Leah Reviews} Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orïsha, #1)


by Tomi Adeyemi
Pages: 448
Published on March 6th 2018
by Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Mythology, Young Adult
Format: ARC
Source: Borrowed
Amazon | B&N | Goodreads

Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.

4.5 Stars

That ending is not fair. Who ends a book that way?

I apologize. I’m going to write a comprehensive review. CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE was one of my most coveted books of 2018. It offered magic and conflict and DIVERSITY. There was so much buzz about it and fortunately, this novel wins the hype because it offers all that and more.

The world building leaves so much for the reader to imagine and savor. It crackles with life. This is African inspired fantasy chock full of gods and magic. The gods bless certain people, the maji, to wield their power in the world. Certain people can create fire and not burn. Others can commune through dreams. Magic has been wiped out of Orisha by a king who sees the maji as threats.

The land, which has its beautiful places, is a place to explore many themes. There are several social issues covered in the book: racism, class, and political strife. Nothing is shied away from–how people are treated based on the darkness of their skin, how people trying to live are pitted against one another. This is a novel that emphasizes the power of humanity in its exploration of social conflicts.

The book is told from three points of view: Zelie, a diviner whose family was torn apart by the king’s “Raid” against magic users. There’s Amari, a princess whose on quest to restore magic to Orisha. And there’s Inan, the crown prince, whose desire for his father’s approval will be tested. Although I’m not a big fan of multi POVs, it’s well done. Each character had their own distinct voice and manner. Character arcs are given lots of time to develop for each person. Amari’s arc is especially wonderful.

My main issue is that the story drops you in and kind of expects you to know what’s going on, like the animals and some of the situations the characters find themselves in. Once I found my footing though, I was flipping pages at breakneck speed.

But really. WHO ENDS A BOOK THAT WAY AND IS SMUG IN THE KNOWLEDGE THAT I WILL BE GRABBING THE SEQUEL WHEN IT’S RELEASED? Because you bet I am so there when the story continues.

Leah
Leah

Tags:

Like what you see? Enter your email here to get Quite the Novel Idea directly in your mail box. Great, huh?

Enter your e-mail address below to receive new posts directly in your inbox!

13 responses to “{Leah Reviews} Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

  1. This was a great review! I really enjoyed Children of Blood and Bone. I literally couldn’t put it down once I started reading it. Everything about it was so great: the characters, the world building, the Nigerian influence. Ugh — I can’t wait for book two! And that definitely was one hell of a cliff hanger — unfair!

  2. Oh, my gosh! I’ve been waiting for this book for months now. It’s going to be a huge hit, I just know it.
    There hasn’t been a huge cliffhanger/shocker ending in YA novels for years so I’m really excited to find out what happens in the end.

    zemira recently posted: Monthly List: March 2018
    • Leah

      It’s gotten so much buzz and it deserves all of it and more. I hope many people get the chance to read it.

    • Leah

      I hate cliffhanger endings too, but the ending here is more of a shocker than anything. And it is so wrong! LOL! But this is a really good book that I hope you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.