{Effie Reviews} Sworn to Raise by Terah Edun

Posted June 24, 2013 by Effie in Reviews / 0 Comments

{Effie Reviews} Sworn to Raise by Terah Edun

Sworn to Raise


by Terah Edun
Series: Courtlight #1
Published on April 10th, 2013
by Amazon KDP
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley
Amazon | B&N | BookDepository | Goodreads

Seventeen-year-old Ciardis has grown up in poverty, a cleaner in a small vale on the outskirts of the empire. But beneath her empire’s seemingly idyllic surface lies a hidden secret. Whispers of an inept crown Prince are growing ever louder—intensified by the five year anniversary of the soulbond initiations.

Amidst scandalous whispers, Ciardis finds herself chosen to train for the Companion’s Guild. She leaves her home and sets off on a personal journey to become a Court Companion. A position she’d never thought possible for a lowly servant to obtain, she must prove that she has the skills to attract a Patron.

But she must master those skills quickly. If the legends are true, only Ciardis can harness the power to raise a Prince in an Imperial Court sworn to bring him down.

This sensational series debut melds intricate storylines with remarkable characters and unforgettable magic. Sworn To Raise is ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore, Michelle Sagara, and Maria Snyder.

I received this book for free from the publisher or author in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

2.5 Stars

The reason I requested this book on Netgalley was because the cover looked sooooooo pretty and because the blurb sounded interesting.

The story was nice enough to read, it’s about a seventeen-year-old orphan girl named Ciardis, who has a job as a laundress, working for a cheapskate boss and just discovered that her “boyfriend” of two years couldn’t keep it in his pants and ended up knocking up another girl and because that’s just not done, they’re forced to be bound (which means married). When the Companion, Serena comes to town, she offers Ciardis a chance to be part of the Companions Guild and be her sponsor. Ciardis accepts it and thus starts her adventure as a trainee Companion. The rest of the story is about Ciardis going through her training, meeting several possible Patrons and also Prince Sebastian, who needs her help in regaining his connection with the Land Wight, so he can acces his magic once again and be a worthy Heir to the throne.

So about the characters. I liked Ciardis well enough, she’s a strong character. But I can’t get a read on her personality, because it seems she’s constantly changing her own personality, one minute she’s smart and sarcastic and the next she’s shallow and an airhead. And then there is Sebastian (the prince), I didn’t connect with him at all, it’s not that I don’t like him, there’s just no … spark, I guess you could call it. Then there are the supporting characters like Serena, Damias, Vana, Teachene, just to name a few. They’re fun characters to read about, though Serena can be quite shallow.

I was a bit disappointed that Ciardis’ training as a Companion was mostly skipped over, with only here and there a few explanations on how things worked, but nothing very in-depth. Also the last few chapters read a bit too rushed for me. I also noticed a few spelling mistakes, here and there that bothered me when I read the story.

All in all it wasn’t a bad book but I didn’t enjoy it as much I hoped I would.

Effie

About Terah Edun

Terah Edun is a young adult fantasy writer born and raised in the Atlanta metropolitan area, who transplanted to the Northeast region for college, and has spent years living abroad in South Sudan and Morocco. She writes the stories that she always loved to read as a young girl.

Tags: , ,

Like what you see? Enter your email here to get Quite the Novel Idea directly in your mail box. Great, huh?

Enter your e-mail address below to receive new posts directly in your inbox!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.