{Can’t Wait Wednesday} A River of Royal Blood

Posted June 5, 2019 by Leah in Memes & Features, Waiting on Wednesday / 0 Comments

Can’t Wait Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by Wishful Endings, where we get the opportunity to talk about upcoming books we’re excited for. It’s inspired by Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by Breaking the Spine.

 

{Can’t Wait Wednesday} A River of Royal Blood

A River of Royal Blood (A River of Royal Blood, #1)


by Amanda Joy
Pages: 368
Published on October 29, 2019
by Putnam
Goodreads


An enthralling debut perfect for fans of

Children of Blood and Bone

set in a North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown.

Sixteen-year-old Eva is a princess, born with the magick of marrow and blood--a dark and terrible magick that hasn't been seen for generations in the vibrant but fractured country of Myre. Its last known practitioner was Queen Raina, who toppled the native khimaer royalty and massacred thousands, including her own sister, eight generations ago, thus beginning the Rival Heir tradition. Living in Raina's long and dark shadow, Eva must now face her older sister, Isa, in a battle to the death if she hopes to ascend to the Ivory Throne--because in the Queendom of Myre only the strongest, most ruthless rulers survive.

When Eva is attacked by an assassin just weeks before the battle with her sister, she discovers there is more to the attempt on her life than meets the eye--and it isn't just her sister who wants to see her dead. As tensions escalate, Eva is forced to turn to a fey instructor of mythic proportions and a mysterious and handsome khimaer prince for help in growing her magick into something to fear. Because despite the love she still has for her sister, Eva will have to choose: Isa's death or her own.

A River of Royal Blood is an enthralling debut set in a lush North African inspired fantasy world that subtly but powerfully challenges our notions of power, history, and identity.

Why I’m Waiting: The plot sounds incredible! Also, Amanda has been an active member of the bookish community for years. It’s inspiring when someone who has talked passionately about books now gets to share their words with the reader audience.

 

What book are you waiting for?

Leah
Leah

Tags:

Like what you see? Enter your email here to get Quite the Novel Idea directly in your mail box. Great, huh?

Enter your e-mail address below to receive new posts directly in your inbox!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.