{Bee’s Reviews} Five Times Revenge by Lindsay Eland ~ Could’ve Been SO Much More

Posted May 19, 2016 by Bee in Reviews / 4 Comments

!cid_ii_1546bf553ac0b0b8

{Bee’s Reviews} Five Times Revenge by Lindsay Eland ~ Could’ve Been SO Much More

Five Times Revenge


by Lindsay Eland
Published on June 7th 2016
by Greenwillow Books
Genres: Middle Grade, Contemporary
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Amazon | Goodreads

Five unlikely friends. Two bullies. One epic prank. Part The Breakfast Club and part The View from Saturday, this funny, heartwarming novel about friendship and standing up for yourself will appeal to fans of Chris Grabenstein and Jennifer L. Holm.

Adam is the prank mastermind. Perk is his best friend and the computer genius. Pearl is the prettiest girl in school—and a violin prodigy. Ray looks like a big dumb jock, but he secretly wants to be an engineer. And Dutch is the often-bullied dork who is in tune with everyone’s feelings. The five of them couldn’t be more different. But there’s one thing they have in common: they are fed up with Hill Parmar, the school bully—and his dad, their school principal, who is always turning a blind eye. When Hill finally steps over the line, the five unlikely schemers band together for a prank like nothing Mt. Nittany Middle School has ever seen before.

Lindsay Eland weaves the five alternate points of view together for an accessible and funny school story—and a friendship story—for every reader. Teamwork, trust, and seeing below the surface are at the heart of this novel for readers who snap up books by Wendy Mass, Jennifer L. Holm, and Kate Messner. (less)

I received this book for free from the publisher or author in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

3 Stars

I was actually rather excited to read this book, mostly because the premise is similar to another book I read (and LOVED) this year: Don’t Get Caught by Kurt Dinan. Though that one is YA and this MG, they share a similar story. A group of kids coming together to get back at someone through pranks with an MC that’s really good at coming up with said pranks. Both have been compared to The Breakfast Club. Don’t Get Caught ended up on my all-time faves list and Max, the MC, even landed himself a spot on my fave character list. So to say Five Times Revenge had a lot to live up to, would be an understatement. Unfortunately, though I did enjoy it, it didn’t quite match those expectations of mine.

I’m going to start with the things I didn’t like, because I like to get all the negative out of the way so I can end my review on a positive note. First, and the biggest issue I had, is the fact that this book doesn’t really… go beyond the surface. There is SO much potential here in the cast of characters alone, which I’ll talk about later, and it doesn’t dig any deeper than necessary. I would’ve loved to explore each of the five main characters more and really get to know them and connect with them. But I never really did. And yes, it’s Middle Grade, but I’ve read books in the genre go SO much deeper and they’re a lot better for it. I think there is so much potential for deeper character developement in middle grade books and touch on these tough subjects. Reach a younger generation and spread a positive message. And yes, it is possible in this kind of story because Don’t Get Caught did exactly that. And before you say anything, I know plenty of MG books that did it perfectly too.

My second issue is what all the stuff the principal and his son did. I don’t think that would ever happen in real life, but since this is still a book and it’s fiction, I can overlook it. But that doesn’t take away that some of it did really go overboard and was a tiny bit unbelievable.

Now before you toss this book aside, there are things I enjoyed in this book. I liked the story overall, just because I love heist stories, which is one of the reasons I adore Don’t Get Caught. I like seeing how these groups of unlikely friends come together and plan this awesome prank to get back at someone who did them wrong. Who did others wrong too. It always sends a message that there’s more to someone than you know and that someone you least expect, might turn out to be your best friend. It encourages people to get to know someone before judging them based on appearances or first impressions alone. And I applaud that, even if that message is not intentional.

And-though this book doesn’t really do as much with this as it could-the characters are all very diverse. Each has their own voice and the different POV’s really highlighted that. I liked Adam, who is great at coming up with pranks and all kind of smartsy stuff. I liked his best friend Perk, who’s a computer genius. I also liked Pearl, the pretty girl who’s great at remembering things and a violin prodigy. I liked Ray, who looks like dumb jock, but is actually very smart. And I had a soft spot for Dutch, the always-bullied dork who is awesome at imitations and braver than he thinks. I also loved Tommy, Perk’s disabled brother. All five of the main characters have things going on in their personal life and they’re so different and I liked that they became friends anyway. Dutch and Pearl even start developing this sweet and innocent romance, which I adored.

Overall, Five Times Revenge was a fun read that ultimately did keep me hooked from start to finish. So if you like middle grade and you enjoy prank/heist stories, I recommend you give this one a shot.

Bee

Tags: , , , ,

Like what you see? Enter your email here to get Quite the Novel Idea directly in your mail box. Great, huh?

Enter your e-mail address below to receive new posts directly in your inbox!

4 responses to “{Bee’s Reviews} Five Times Revenge by Lindsay Eland ~ Could’ve Been SO Much More

  1. Oh bummer! I hate it when a book has potential, but doesn’t dig as deeply as it could have. That’s just sucky and leaves me feeling very meh.
    The characters and their friendship sound good though, so at least there’s that.
    Sorry this wasn’t all that, Bee!

  2. Ooh, I don’t think this one would be for me. 🙈🙊 *hides* I’m terrible with MG books…it’s weird, but I just never seem to connect to them AT ALL?? (I mean, except for some like Lemony Snicket.😂) Although the prank/heist aspect does seem fun! Sadness that this was a letdown for you, Bee. 🙁

    • Bee
      Twitter:

      I totally get it! I had the same for the longest time, but I’ve been very lucky with them lately. Yeah, I think my expectations were just a bit too high. xD

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.