In Which Bee Mini-Reviews STARFLIGHT and LOVE & OTHER FOREIGN WORDS

Posted February 13, 2017 by Bee in Reviews / 11 Comments

In Which Bee Mini-Reviews STARFLIGHT and LOVE & OTHER FOREIGN WORDSStarflight by Melissa Landers
Series: Starflight #1
Published on February 2nd 2016
by Disney Hyperion
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Romance
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Goodreads

Life in the outer realm is a lawless, dirty, hard existence, and Solara Brooks is hungry for it. Just out of the orphanage, she needs a fresh start in a place where nobody cares about the engine grease beneath her fingernails or the felony tattoos across her knuckles. She's so desperate to reach the realm that she's willing to indenture herself to Doran Spaulding, the rich and popular quarterback who made her life miserable all through high school, in exchange for passage aboard the spaceliner Zenith.

When a twist of fate lands them instead on the Banshee, a vessel of dubious repute, Doran learns he's been framed on Earth for conspiracy. As he pursues a set of mysterious coordinates rumored to hold the key to clearing his name, he and Solara must get past their enmity to work together and evade those out for their arrest. Life on the Banshee may be tumultuous, but as Solara and Doran are forced to question everything they once believed about their world—and each other—the ship becomes home, and the eccentric crew family. But what Solara and Doran discover on the mysterious Planet X has the power to not only alter their lives, but the existence of everyone in the universe...

2 Stars

I am slightly disappointed with this one. And I say slightly because I had low expectations going into this and that helped a bit with my enjoyment. Basically the only thing I wanted from this book was a fun space adventure much like Guardians of the Galaxy. Everything extra would be a win. But while I had fun… it wasn’t enough and I missed something. A lot, actually. And what better way to sort out my thoughts than with a list?

The plot, while fun, didn’t really have much to it. It was fairly predictable to me and very anti-climactic in the end. There were a couple of fun action scenes, yes, but it wasn’t enough for me. I need more!

The characters also fell flat for me? This could have been another case of serious Squad Goals but sadly all the characters were about as interesting as a blank sheet of paper to me. I didn’t connect with them at all and half the time I didn’t even know them at all. Their personalities changed a lot. That’s how it felt anyway.

♦ They did have a chipmunk named Acorn though. He should’ve been the MC. Definitely.

The romance was all over the place and I didn’t get it. At all. It went slow for a while because they hated each other at first and then they became friends but then BAM suddenly they’re in love and… doing stuff right after the first kiss. Whut the whut? Slow down, folks. Please.

♦ It did have A+ banter though. Very witty and funny. I appreciate good banter.

The world-building was kind of… eh? It wasn’t bad but… also not very good. So. Keep it at meh, we shall.

♦ But I still wanted more. Like… a lot more. And I didn’t get more. Which makes me sad. Because space is cool. And this book made it seem… not.

Overall this just is a solid nope for me. But other people seemed to have enjoyed it a whole lot so… My opinion isn’t the only one out there. So go forth and read it and form your own.

In Which Bee Mini-Reviews STARFLIGHT and LOVE & OTHER FOREIGN WORDSLove and Other Foreign Words by Erin McCahan
Published on May 1st 2014
by Dial Books
Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Goodreads
Also by this author: Love and Other Foreign Words, I Now Pronounce You Someone Else

Perfect for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell, Love and Other Foreign Words is equal parts comedy and coming of age--a whip-smart, big-hearted, laugh-out-loud love story about sisters, friends, and what it means to love at all.

Can anyone be truly herself--or truly in love--in a language that's not her own?

Sixteen-year-old Josie lives her life in translation. She speaks High School, College, Friends, Boyfriends, Break-ups, and even the language of Beautiful Girls. But none of these is her native tongue -- the only people who speak that are her best friend Stu and her sister Kate. So when Kate gets engaged to an epically insufferable guy, how can Josie see it as anything but the mistake of a lifetime? Kate is determined to bend Josie to her will for the wedding; Josie is determined to break Kate and her fiancé up. As battles are waged over secrets and semantics, Josie is forced to examine her feelings for the boyfriend who says he loves her, the sister she loves but doesn't always like, and the best friend who hasn't said a word -- at least not in a language Josie understands.

4 Stars

Well, this was a nice surprise! Why aren’t more people talking about this book?? I would’ve read it much sooner, which means I would’ve been able to gush about it sooner too. Honestly, you’re all letting me down. Let me pause this review to shake my head in disappointed and tut at all of you. Because Love & Other Foreign Words is absolutely adorable and sweet and heartfelt and funny and you should read it. Let me tell you why in more detail so you really get the message, okay? Okay.

It has nice writing that’s easy to read and will keep you hooked the whole time. Yes, this is in the writing-style that I so adore that seems easy to write but actually is not at all. It’s very realistic with great dialogue and gives you feels. What more do you want, honestly?

It’s FUNNY. Yes, it is! I love funny books! And this one was very funny to me. Josie’s voice and her humor were SO my style and I loved it and I laughed and I love it when a book can make me laugh like this.

The family dynamics in this book are golden. There’s sister-love and awesome parents and I love it. I love awesome parents in YA! Josie’s dad was the best and I loved him. I also loved her sisters and all their bonds and just YASSSS. Give me all the family love.

All the characters! So much love for them. I loved Stu and Sophie and Jen and Stefan and even Geoff grew on me after a while. All the side-characters were great, honestly. I loved their friendship with Josie and each other and while Geoff annoyed me at first, he grew on me too as I got to know him.

Josie is a fantastic main character. She’s just so amazing really. I adore her. She’s supersmart, which makes her a bit different from other people and she thinks differently. But she’s also very funny and sweet and kind of quirky and I related to her in a lot of ways. I really felt for her and rooted for her all the way.

I love how it accurately portrays someone that’s above average intelligence. Because life is different for them. They think differently and sometimes they can come across as autistic to some people and I love how this book handled all of that stuff.

♦ I also loved that this book didn’t have the straight-forward romance between two people while also not going all love-triangle on us. It’s hard to explain but ultimately the romance was very well done and it was very cute and I ship it a lot.

Yes, you should check this book out. It’s funny, heartfelt, cute, very focused on family and friendship, but also on growing up and all that stuff. You know, like a lot of books. But this one does it in a very very nice way. If you are a YA Contemporary fan, you should absolutely read it. Please and thank you.

Bee

About Erin McCahan

Erin McCahan is an Ohio-dwelling, unabashedly Styx-loving, full-time writer who enjoys a variety of hobbies, excluding role-playing, sticky things, and karaoke. She lives in New Albany, near Columbus, with her husband.

Bee

Bee (born as Bieke) is 26 years old and from Belgium. (No she won't send waffles.) She's a major book nerd (or just nerd in general really) and she's very proud of that. She blogs over at Quite The Novel Idea. Oh, and she also writes books as Nelly B. Jones. Or tries to anyway.

Tags: , , , , ,

Like what you see? Enter your email here to get Quite the Novel Idea directly in your mail box. Great, huh?

Enter your e-mail address below to receive new posts directly in your inbox!

11 responses to “In Which Bee Mini-Reviews STARFLIGHT and LOVE & OTHER FOREIGN WORDS

  1. I’ve heard great things about both books Bee, I even own both of them too. I just need more hours in the day to keep up with my reading! Sorry that Starflight wasn’t for you, I think I might like it more.

  2. I’m bummed to hear that you didn’t enjoy Starflight. I just bought it on sale recently and heard good things about it. Oh well, we’ll see how it goes. lol! Great review…not going to lie, I’m excited about the chipmunk named Acorn. haha!

  3. I’m sorry starflight didn’t end up being a great read for you, I absolutely loved it but I think that’s the great thing about books. Everyone is going to have a different opinion on them! I haven’t read love and other foreign words yet but I’ve been meaning to for so long! Great reviews!

  4. Sadness about Starflight! I have… moderate expectations for it? So maybe it won’t be as bad? Idk, but I need to own it regardless, because cover. So yeah hahah. Plus I can also be there just for the chipmunk, if nothing else 😉

    Also, I have heard few things about Love and Other Foreign Words, BUT every single review I HAVE read says it is awesome, so I really should give it a go. I mean, funny, smart, a ship worthy romance, great family dynamics? Goodness yes, where do I sign up!? Great reviews, Bee!

  5. I really enjoyed Starflight, so I’m bummed that you didn’t like it, but I can definitely understand where you’re coming from. You had certain expectations and they weren’t delivered. I read the sequel/companion, and unfortunately didn’t enjoy it as much.

    I NEED to read Love & Other Foreign Words. It has been on my TBR for so freaking long. All those points you made hit all the right note for me, so I should just do it already!

Leave a Reply

Want to include a link to one of your blog posts below your comment? Enter your URL in the website field, then click the button below to get started.