ARC Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Posted December 2, 2013 by Bee in Reviews / 3 Comments

ARC Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Uninvited


by Sophie Jordan
Series: Uninvited #1
Published on January 28th 2014
by HarperTeen
Genres: Dystopian, Romance, Young Adult
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Amazon | B&N | Goodreads

Also by this author: Reign of Shadows, Reign of Shadows

The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

I received this book for free from the publisher or author in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

5 Stars
Review

I don’t know what I expected when I started this book, but I certainly didn’t expect this. It gave me so many feels! I read it almost in one sitting and I just couldn’t put it down. Even when I had too, I couldn’t wait to get back to it again. Jordan’s writing really is addicting!

Davy Hamilton is a prodigy with a very bright future and what seems like the perfect boyfriend. Until her test for the Homicidal Tendency Syndrome comes back positive. Her parents are scared of her, her ‘perfect’ boyfriend dumps her, she’s uninvited (expelled) from school and she can forget about Julliard. In a new school, she’s treated like a criminal, spending the day in a classroom called ‘the Cage’. There she meets Sean. Is he really as dangerous as everyone thinks he is? And is she?

uninvitedslide

 

Like I said, Jordan’s writing is very addicting. This book is hard to put down. And even though it’s a fairly simple story, I loved it! Not much happens, but I didn’t care. It still is a very interesting and good story. And I got so many feels! I felt so bad for Davy and I got mad at the whole world! People with HTS aren’t treated as equals like the government makes them believe. They’re bullied, hated, discriminated, pushed… So bad that I think it’s not that crazy that some of them just turn the switch and break. They build up so much anger and hatred because of how they’re treated. People expect them to kill and treat them like they already killed someone. No wonder they get angry. There’s so much intolerance in the world and I loved how this book shows that. And maybe there’s no such thing as HTS, but there are plenty of other things that make people act like they do in this book. If the people int his book were treated equally, they’re lives wouldn’t be ruined in the first place. They wouldn’t have to change their entire lives and forget about their plans. (Breathe Bee, just breathe.) Okay, sorry. I’m going to stop now. I would’ve liked a bit more history on HTS, though.

So the message is great in this book. But I liked the characters too. It’s pretty easy for me to relate to Davy. I felt everything she felt and I was crying for her in some situations. It was heartbreaking to see her life just taken away and ripped to shreds. I hate Zac, he’s a jerk. And Tori is a bitch. But Sean is sooo great. I love him! And I like Gil too, he’s such a sweety! And I really loved the romance between Sean and Davy. Sophie built it up great and I loved how their relationship grew over the course of the book. And I liked Davy’s brother Mitchell too. He’s a great brother, I wish I had a brother like that!

So to sum it up, this is a great book with a very beautiful message (I don’t know if the author intended that?). I just loved this book and I can’t wait to read the sequel. I recommend it to everyone, especially to fans of dystopian books like The Program.

Bee

Tags: , , , , ,

Like what you see? Enter your email here to get Quite the Novel Idea directly in your mail box. Great, huh?

Enter your e-mail address below to receive new posts directly in your inbox!

3 responses to “ARC Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

  1. Jessica @ a GREAT read

    Ooh nice review! Was curious about this was, but was rejected twice or thrice? for it from Edelweiss! Might have to check it out still! Glad you enjoyed it so much!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.