ARC Review: Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

Posted August 28, 2014 by Bee in Reviews / 9 Comments

ARC Review: Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

Falling Into Place


by Amy Zhang
Published on September 9th 2014
by Greenwillow Books
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Goodreads

On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

I received this book for free from the publisher or author in exchange for an honest review.
This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

4.5 Stars

Wow. This was not what I expected it to be. Not at all. But it was so, so good. This, miss Amy Zhang, is one hell of a debut. Bravo.

Falling Into Place is a hard book to describe. It’s about a girl called Liz Emerson. Liz just drove her car off the road. In this book an for the most part unknown and unexpected narrator tries to put the pieces together. Why did Liz crash her car? While her mother and friends are waiting for news, we go through defining moments of Liz’ life that brought her to this point.

I’ll say this right away. This is not for everyone. This style of storytelling can turn a lot of people off if it’s not their cup of tea. For me it’s a mix between If I Stay by Gayle Forman and Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher. Both of those are not your typical contemporary novels and this wasn’t either. It’s kind of hard to describe. Just read it and you’ll get what I mean. It worked for me. I couldn’t put it down and it had me hooked right from the start. But I get that some people will have more trouble reading this because of the style it’s in.

Liz is a very complex character. There are so many sides to her. So much more than meets the eye. In the end I did love her. I also loved her friends Julia and Kennie. All three are so flawed and they all made mistakes in their lives, but I loved them nonetheless in the end. I didn’t like Liz’ mother. She wasn’t a very good parent. To be honest, I wasn’t that surprised when it was revealed who the narrator was. I had a hunch throughout the story because I paid attention to details. To see if I could find any clues. And I was right even though I didn’t expect to be right. All I will say is this: I don’t think it’s ever been done before.

Falling Into Place is a surprisingly heartbreaking story. I hope it will captivate others like it did me, I really do. I recommend this book to fans of Gayle Forman and Jay Asher because it’s very similar in style, but I encourage everyone to give it a try, because this was just so very good. I can’t wait to see what this author has in store for us next!

Bee

Tags: , , , ,

Like what you see? Enter your email here to get Quite the Novel Idea directly in your mail box. Great, huh?

Enter your e-mail address below to receive new posts directly in your inbox!

9 responses to “ARC Review: Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.